Going On Pilgrimage

TreeatSilverDapple

It’s that time of year again. Lent is approaching. And everything in me longs to go on Pilgrimage. For a few years now Lent has become increasingly meaningful. It represents a journey, a path to walk, day in and day out. As much as I would love to spend the 40 days of Lent on the Camino de Santiago in Spain, or some other trail, I must live out that journey here, with the roads, grass, soil, right beneath my feet in Kernersville, NC.

My very full life as a pastor’s wife, mother of three, artist and teacher, leaves little time for the reflection and focus I long for each day. Oh I do carve out a bit of time at the beginning of each day for this. But I yearn for more. I’ve decided to embark on a Lenten Pilgrimage of my own design, incorporating the walks I go on in my neighborhood and other local places, as the “path” or “trail” for the 40 days of Lent and beyond. Though I’ll be setting out on daily walks from the comforts of home, I will have the added difficulty of leaving those comforts for a walk out of doors every day as well as leaving behind what forever hounds me- the ongoing and overwhelming to-do list.

If I were out on a trail for days on end, I would not have my usual daily life issues to contend with. InΒ someΒ ways, the challenge of “being on pilgrimage” within my own life is exciting and is perhaps what is at the heart of Lent: a season to push away from some of the entrapments of daily life that we might have more focus and reflection on the true meaning of life and the sustenance to be gained there.

I chose the name, A Pilgrim’s Draw, for it’s two-fold meaning. Not only will I, a walking pilgrim, draw in a sketchbook something I see on my daily walks, but I shall also “draw” from these walks any insights or thoughts that may arise to encourage me in going on. At the end of a day’s traveling, I will share these thoughts with you here on this blog. It is separate from my usual blog, so as to create space and focus for the journey ahead, free of any accomplishment mode in creating for-purchase art or knitting designs and such.

Though my walks will likely be solitary, I do invite you to join me in this endeavor. More on that tomorrow. Until then, consider how you might incorporate drawing and walking into a daily pilgrimage through Lent. You won’t need a plane ticket or a huge back-pack (even though that sounds marvelous!) Just a pair of walking shoes and a sketchbook.

I hope to meet you on pilgrimage!

-Jennifer

14 thoughts on “Going On Pilgrimage

  1. annarelle says:

    Thank you for sharing your pilgrimage! While I was just contemplating that I need to make a daily routine to draw and paint more before I came to your blog, Im full of excuses why this can’t be a daily practise for me… but then I wrote this comment and that just seems like quitting before I begin. I’ll be joining your hashtag on Instagram! πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

